Saying Goodbye to 2012

It’s been a month since I’ve been here.  My apologies if you have felt abandoned.  But with school projects coming due, finals, and work with Nutcracker, not to mention all of the stress and insanity because of our insurance settlement STILL not being here, I needed to pare down my activities.  And I’ll still likely only be posting 3-4 times a week now.

After this post, I’m going to work up a survey, to find out what kinds of things you’d like to see in my blog.  I want to take this in a new direction…posting crafty things, healthy things, more photography, philosophical (or not) discussion and discovery, product reviews and other things.  Feel free to leave suggestions, too.

My main reason for posting tonight (other than explaining why I’ve been MIA), is that it’s the eve of New Year’s Eve…and it always brings me to reflecting on the year we are closing.  Have I met the goals I set for myself?  If so, it’s time to celebrate them.  If not, it’s time to figure out where I got off track, or if they were reasonable goals to begin with.

This past year, my main goal was to somehow get healthier…to start taking natural thyroid, to lose some weight, get moving more, eat better and sleep on a more regular schedule. Also, I wanted to go back to school and get my home organized.  Two out of three isn’t bad.  Getting the house organized is a bigger task than originally thought…mainly because there are two other people living here that aren’t always on the same page as I am, but also because I struggled for so long with lack of energy (therefore, lack of time) to accomplish my goals in that area.

What have we learned from this?  Break tasks down into even smaller parts than originally thought necessary.  If I can only get one part done, that’s ok!  If I can get two parts done, that’s great.  If I can get multiple parts done, do a happy dance.  The point is to continue to make progress…and not get disappointed if we can’t cross everything off the list every day.  It all evens out in the end, as long as we keep plugging away at it.

As we say goodbye to 2012, what were goals you have achieved this year?  What dreams did you work to become reality?  Share your success stories.  Do save next year’s goals for a couple of days….there will be another post!

Leave a Reply

