Thyroid, Weight Problems, Bullying and Celebrities

Seriously, why do people have to be so mean?

http://www.stopthethyroidmadness.com/2012/10/05/jennifer-livingston/

Why can’t people understand that sometimes, it doesn’t matter if you eat healthy and stay UNDER 1800 calories a day, and exercise like you’re supposed to, if you have a thyroid disorder, you can still gain weight?  It’s not a choice for many of us.  And none of us thinks it’s fun.  It’s humiliating.  Isolating.  Frustrating.  Depressing.  Maddening.  I admit that sometimes I don’t eat like I should.  It’s exhausting trying to keep up with a gluten, soy and nut free diet.  And because of adrenal fatigue and other symptoms of hypothyroid, it’s harder to exercise.  But, I don’t give up.  I do what I can each day, praying that someday, it makes a difference.

One thought on “Thyroid, Weight Problems, Bullying and Celebrities

  1. I was 5′ 4″ (3 1/2″), a couple of pounds shy of 200 and would not – could not – loose unless I ate about 900 calories a day. I only lost weight (and regained the use of my brain some what) when I got on a decent dose of natural thyroid. I was on generic T4 and then Synthroid for more than 15 years without any noticeable change except that my blood tests were ‘normal’. When I began taking natural thyroid, I was once again able to play games without having to ask how to play every time it was my turn. When I was adjusted to a better dose, I had energy, lost weight and was able to function without having to spend most of my day trying to remember what I was going to do. Thyroid problems are no simple matter to figure out. I’ve been taking meds for about 20 years – trying to figure out what was wrong with me since 1979. They gave me antidepressants without a second thought but refused to consider thyroid hormones unless I had gotten much sicker than I was…. and I eventually got there. Makes me just a bit ticked.

Leave a Reply

