“New and improved” isn’t always better

In my reading about my thyroid condition, I have to sift through a lot of crazy stuff to get to the good information. I have listened to countless doctors say that it is impossible to have all of the symptoms I have on my list, and that there must be something else wrong.  They keep running tests, only to have EVERYTHING come back “normal”.  Of course, then, if all my lab results are “normal”, then it must be all in my head.  And yet I get sicker and sicker, but no one will listen to me or do anything about it.

Most recently, labs and exams have ruled out Fibromyalgia (I have exactly 3 of the 18 pain points, and you have to have 11 to get a definitive diagnosis), Rheumatoid Arthritis, Lupus and Chronic Fatigue Syndrome.  My Epstein-Barr antibodies indicate that although I have had mononucleosis at one time (yep, during the first month of pregnancy with my daughter), they are not high enough to cause any of the symptoms of fatigue.  And most importantly, I am NOT depressed nor do I have an organic imbalance of chemicals in my brain.

So, what does this all mean?  It means that I remain undertreated for hypothyroid.  What really makes me mad, though, is that all of this information…about how hypothyroid affects the many organs in the body, and how natural desiccated thyroid hormone (NDT), with its complete arsenal of 4 thyroid hormones and other essential hormones, is more effective as a treatment…has been known since 1875.  It wasn’t until the 1970’s when giving a synthetic form of only 1 part of the whole became the standard (T4, with a generic name of levothyroxine, also known as Synthroid, Levothroid and other brand names).  Also, instead of listening to the patients describe their symptoms, paying attention to the patient’s affect, and watching the changes that occur while on NDT, it became the standard to diagnose by checking levels of thyroid stimulating hormone (TSH) in the blood.  Thing is, this is a hormone produced by the pituitary, and doesn’t indicate the level of thyroid hormones in the body or whether they’re being utilized properly.  This was considered ‘more scientific’, instead of the ‘old wives’s tale’ methodology previously used.

My question to the medical community is if something is working, and working well, especially something that is natural and sustainable, WHY ARE WE MESSING WITH IT, and screwing people up?.  You say ‘first do no harm’, but you’re doing exactly that by continuing to under treat your patients and by not listening to them seriously when they tell you “I’M SICK.”  Stop thinking beyond the numbers and the bottom line dollars.  These are real people you’re dealing with.  We’re not all stupid nor do we lie about how we’re feeling (ok, there are some true hypochondriacs, but in my experience, people with hypothyroid aren’t like that.).

Now that I’m done with my rant for the moment…there are a couple of places I’d like for you to visit, to take a peek into why I’ve become so passionate about this, why I have been frustrated for so long, and why I am determined to fix this once and for all.  Some of you may think this is ‘fringe’ type of thinking, but remember, the information I’m about to share has been around much longer than the new ‘scientific’ studies, and has been proven clinically accurate year after year.  Enjoy!

Hypothyroidism Type 2:  A New Way of Looking at an Old Problem
by Nenah Sylver, PhD

and

Stop the Thyroid Madness

2 thoughts on ““New and improved” isn’t always better

  1. At first Synthroid seemed to work for me; but after multiple adjustments over 3 years I was feeling worse. Did multiple tests in the DR recently and I was able to rule out many other causes. After researching much online I made the recent switch to Armour and I’m already noticing improvements. Still adjusting amounts but loving not having the side effects that Synthroid had started giving me. Hope that you can get some answers and relief also.

    • I know what the answers are (at least as they pertain to me), just the doctors aren’t listening to me. I’ve taken matters into my own hands and gone renegade until I can afford a naturopath. Four days ago, I started taking Thyroid-S. It’s basically the same thing as Armour. It’ll take a little while to adjust, but I can already start feeling the difference for the better in some areas. I think we give up too much control of our own healthcare, as evidenced by the way things have gone politically lately. It’s time we took it back…before we lose it completely.

Leave a Reply

