Light Mountain Natural Henna – Product Review

So my first product review is on a beauty product I have actually had some experience with in the past, but one of which I used a new version today.   Light Mountain Natural Henna Color the Gray is an all natural, organic, completely herbal hair color.  It has none of the harsh chemicals of hair dyes, and contains none of the added minerals of other companies’ henna products.  I first used the original hair color about a year ago, in the Auburn color, and I was pleased over all.  Since my hair has started to go gray more over the past year, I decided to try the Color the Gray two step process, and would like to describe my experience.

A little background:

When you color your hair with henna, it isn’t a dye.  It is a stain.  It coats the hair shaft, and washes out over time.  So instead of roots, it just fades out between applications.  There is absolutely no risk of chemical burns to the scalp, like the ones I had with every other chemical hair dye I tried.  No more itching and burning for days after a coloring.  After you color with henna, you should wait at least 8 weeks before using a chemical coloring product.  Also, if you’ve chemically treated your hair, you may get a slightly different color than you expected.

One of the things to know up front when using henna colorants is that it is a very messy process and can take some time, so you’ll want to prepare to spend at least an afternoon completing your hair color.  Before you can apply the henna to your hair, you have to mix the powder in a big bowl with hot water and let it sit and cure for at least an hour so you get your best possible color.  Because it is a botanical product, it tends to smell a little bit like hay or grass when it is curing, so you can add essential oils to improve the scent and to create a conditioning effect (I used lavender this time).  I laid down plastic garbage bags on the floor to catch drips and pulled out my dark colored towels.

With Color the Gray, you have two packages of colorant.  The first step application only takes about 15 minutes.  You spread the henna paste, which is now the consistency of a thin yogurt, all over your head, concentrating on spots where you have the most gray, and leave it there from 5-15 minutes, then rinse completely with warm water.  Follow up with the color henna of your choice – I choose auburn because it is closer to my natural hair color.  I cover my hair as I did with the first step, only this time, I leave it on for anywhere from 1-3 hours, covering with a shower cap and giving it a periodic blast of hot air with the hair dryer.  Once the time is up, rinse thoroughly with warm water and let it dry naturally.

I am impressed with the coverage this product gives, and can completely overlook the grassy smell.  It is worth it to me to use a product like this, even as messy and time consuming as it it, because it poses no health risk the way chemical dyes can.  I have gotten a consistent color each time, and can even freeze my leftover mixture for future use.  It comes in a few shades, not nearly as many as chemical dyes, but you can also mix other oils and herbs to change the scent, texture and even colors of the henna.

Overall, I am absolutely thrilled with this product and would recommend it to everyone!

Leave a Reply

